First Things First…

G’day to ya!  Thank you for stopping by today!

Honestly, I do not even know where to begin with this blog.  LOL  I want to share my passions with you, but I also want to share my life.  So, I imagine it is safe to say that this blog will be home to a lot of different things.  🙂  No matter the subject matter, I hope that you will always find something here that will be of interest to you, stir your heart, or give you ideas and/or insight.

A little about me?  There isn’t much to tell, actually, and I’ve never been very good at talking about myself in this way.  But, I’ll give it a go…………………………

I am (soon to be) 60 years young.  (I still feel like I did when I was in my 20’s, mentally anyway) 🙂  I met my hubby in 9th grade Algebra class.  We married in 1981, when we were 24.  He has been an over-the-road truck driver for around 34-35 years of our 36 years together.  It’s been a rough life in some ways, but it has paid the bills, kept a roof over the head, and food on the table.  And, contrary to popular thoughts on the matter, truck drivers are not making ‘all kinds of money’…not most, anyway.  In the trucking industry it has always been ‘feast or famine’, with having many more ‘lean’ times than ‘fat’ ones.  But, it has had its blessings as well as troubles.  We are grateful that we’ve never been without a paycheck.

Sorry for that little ‘bunny trail’.  Okay, back to the subject.  😉  We have one child, a granddaughter (all grown now) and a grandson.  They do not live near us.  We had a furry daughter whom we lost this past October.  (That has been very difficult)

I have never considered myself to be creative.  The only crafts that I really learned were knitting and crocheting…and the knitting wasn’t much more than just learning the two basic stitches.  I taught myself to crochet by watching my mother-in-law.  She was into all kinds of different crafts, but back then I wasn’t interested in it…mainly because I didn’t believe I could do any of it.  Oh how I wish I had learned things back then when I still had Mom around to teach me!  😦

I am mostly self-taught with the crafts that I have learned now.  The exception to that, to an extent, is when I learned to make handmade paper cards.  I did learn that from hosting a ‘card class’ a couple of years ago.  I was shown the basics and then I went from there.  🙂  I was completely addicted from that first class!

It was during my first year of making cards that I happened across what has become my absolute passion this past year…Parchment Craft.  I was searching for a particular technique that intrigued me and I wanted to try it.  I stumbled across something called parchment craft while searching and when I saw photos of what this craft was, I was astounded!  These were the type of cards that I wanted to make!  So, my journey into Parchment Craft began.  🙂

Parchment Craft is an ancient craft of embossing on parchment.  If I remember correctly, it dates back to medieval times.  It is a stunningly beautiful craft.  The projects are so delicate and elegant.  Please allow me to clarify something…there is a BIG difference between embossing on parchment and embossing on vellum.  Parchment paper is also not the the same paper used in baking.  Parchment paper is translucent, similar to vellum, but it is heavier than vellum.

I won’t go into a long, drawn out explanation about the craft at this time, but I will share more information about the tools, techniques, and about some of the books as I go along.  For the moment I will leave it at this.  🙂

I am going to close this post with sharing with you my last couple/three lessons.  The little yellow card is one I redid recently from a lesson I did last year.  The other two are more recent.  I hope that you enjoy them.  These will give you a little bit of an idea of what Parchment Craft is.  🙂

Until next time………………..

LadyH

Leave a Reply

